I say no to you, sir*

Here’s a random rant about things that annoy me.

Let’s start off with character traits! Ooooo. Fun.

First on this list is going to have to be people who never take any responsibility for things that happen to them. I hate it when a person always blames someone else for their troubles.  On the opposite end of the same spectrum are people who always blame themselves for everything. These are the people who apologize incessantly. But I find these people slightly less annoying than the first sort.

I also dislike negative people. People who don’t like anything. Who are way too cool to admit to liking something that might not be cool. People who have to make fun of others or put them down to make themselves feel better.  People who don’t ever seem to be able to just let go and be nice for no reason. People who have a hard time laughing. Or smiling. Dear god, just look at the bright side!

High on my list also are “yes-people”. People who just tell you what you want to hear, regardless of what they actually think or feel. Included here are people with two faces. The one they put towards you when you are around, and the one they put on after you leave. (I realize that everyone does this to some extent, and sometimes it is necessary.)

I also don’t like it when a person only appreciates people who are exactly like them, or like only the exact same things, or think only the exact same thoughts.

I don’t like people who don’t try new things. I don’t like lazy people. I don’t like people who take everything personally. I don’t like people who try to make everyone else miserable just because they are unhappy. I don’t like it when people are always late. I don’t like people who tailgate (where do they think they are going?). I don’t like people who can’t empathize with others. Even more, I don’t like people who don’t empathize with others, but think that they do.  I don’t like people who are too quick to judge. I don’t like grouchy people. I hate people who do things or drive specific cars to “impress” others. (Hummers especially). I hate liars.

Now on to things I don’t like! Read on, dear reader, read on!

I don’t like it when my yarn gets all tangled when I’m knitting.

I don’t like it when I make mistakes.

I don’t like it when people let me down.

I don’t like it when I’m in the middle of cooking something, and I realize I don’t have that crucial ingredient.

I HATE pumping gas. And this has nothing to do with price. I just don’t like the activity.

I don’t like spoilers on cars (and I realize my car has one, but at least it’s little!)

I don’t like it when it’s a nice day, and I have to be inside.

I hate it when it’s snowy and sloshy in the winter and my jeans get all gross on the bottom.

I hate it when I go to a restaurant and ask really specific questions about a dish, about whether it has cheese or not, etc, and it comes out with bacon all over it because the waiter forgot to tell the cook I didn’t want bacon.

Just in case you now think I’m just really hateful, here’s a list of things I like.

Waking up on sunny mornings. Giving gifts. Fresh baked cookies. Soysage. Reading a good book on a cold day with a warm blanket. Coffee. Picnics. Road trips. The sun through the leaves of a tree. I like it when someone pays for the person behind them in a line when they don’t even know that person. Good beer. German accents. When someone makes me laugh so hard I not only cry, but my stomach hurts. The smell of flowering trees in the spring. The smell of fallen leaves in autumn. Cooking food for someone I love. Suprises. Honesty. Tolerance. Movies.  Movies about honesty and tolerance. Sleep. Cats. Cats on catnip. Spending time with my family. Christmas/Solstice.

I could probably make both of these lists longer, but it’s beautiful outside, and I want to get out of the house.

So if you actually took the time to read this, do me a favor. Think of one person in your life that you really just can’t stand. Now try to put yourself in his or her shoes. Doesn’t make them seem so bad after all, does it. Damn, I’m a hippie.

*Originally posted Sunday, October 1, 2006

About Courtney Walters

Mama. Information librarian. Food lover. Knitter. Gardener (ish).
This entry was posted in Old MySpace Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

