Life, in general*

I freakin’ love spring. I have yet to break out sandals or a skirt with no tights, but how much I missed going out in just a tee shirt and jeans! So long, wool socks! Goodbye, clunky winter boots! Hello, daffodils that are pushing up in the garden out front! Hello, bike rides to the farmer’s market! Hello, camping trips to Eden Valley! Hello everything that I plan on doing outdoors this summer!

Yesterday I went out and bought hiking shoes. I didn’t want to go all out and get mega-hiking boots, since I’m a wimp and I don’t think I’ll need something like that. But I do actually want to go hiking a lot this summer. And I plan on hiking in Misty Mountain National Park with Erin on our road trip. And somewheres as yet unbeknownst to me in the southwest with Chuck. Just having the shoes makes me want to drive out to Maquoketa or Wild Cat Den or something and go hike for the afternoon. And, It’s perfect weather out for it!

On a completely different tack…. When I read about my friends that have moved to places like New York or Seattle or China (damn you, Diana!), it makes me reflect on how I thought my life would turn out, and how it actually has so far. For instance, when I was in high school, I was sure I would be a teacher by now. Probably at Central. When I was in college, I was convinced that by now I would be in New York, Portland, or Germany somewhere, doing whatever the hell I felt like. Anywhere but here, basically. But, here is where I am. And the more I think about it, here is where I want to be, at least for now. I have a wonderful husband who I adore spending time with. Plus, as an added bonus, he loves to go on weekend trips, so he makes sure we get out of town every once in a while! I have my family here, except Erin, who I wish would move back home! I think I would miss them too much at this point if I moved too far away. There is just something about being able to stop by my dad’s house on a whim and hang out that I don’t want to give up. And, I am headed back to school. I don’t think I would have attempted that if it hadn’t been for this previous year that I had, which made me seriously reconsider my priorities.

Which takes me back to spring. My priorities: get the hell outside! Hike, bike, walk, sit and read, whatever, I don’t care! I WILL NOT be too busy this year to enjoy a beautiful summer day. I refuse to take them for granted anymore. Say what you will of me, but I have my priorities.

*Originally posted Thursday, March 29, 2007

About Courtney Walters

Mama. Information librarian. Food lover. Knitter. Gardener (ish).
This entry was posted in Old MySpace Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

