I have fallen behind

I think this post at Hyperbole and a Half sums up my motivation to do things in life exceedingly well. Case in point: my challenges for this year, as accomplished so far. Witness:

Blog – Hmmm. No posts since January 20. That is one month without a post. Three missed posts = system failure! I could possibly blame this on the fact that I can’t afford the internet at home, and do not do personal things like write posts for my personal blog at work, but this would only be an excuse. Fail.

Cook – Ha! Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha. Here is a good summary of how that usually goes. No baking. Little cooking. However, lots of construction. As I blog, Chuck is building a mantle for the fireplace, which is THE LAST THING that needs to be done in the living room (though the closet still needs to be finished, but I am choosing to ignore that fact. Also, our furnace broke about two weeks ago right before the epic blizzard. I didn’t feel much like cooking at the time. Sorry.

Read 150 books – Oooo! I’m doing well here. I am just barely keeping pace. Time to read some more children’s books to up my numbers. Hey – that’s not cheating! I said originally that the reason I set the number so high was because I read a lot of children’s books. So there.

I have recently read:

Amusing Ourselves to Death, by Neil Postman
Mockingjay, by Suzanne Collins
Peter and the Starcatchers, by Dave Barry
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, by Stieg Larsson
I am a Genius of Unspeakable Evil and I Want to be your Class President, by Josh Lieb
People of the Book, by Geraldine Brooks
The Global Achievement Gap, by Tony Wagner

I got about halfway through Charles Dickens’ Nicholas Nickelby and gave up.

I am currently reading:

In the Belly of the Bloodhound (Bloody Jack #4), by L.A. Meyer
Academically Adrift, by Richard Arum, et. al.

Knit one item a monthWell, I knit two things last month, so I was ahead, right? The slouchy hat and the Gaptastic Cowl. Both easy and on big needles. I’m currently working on finishing a gift I started last fall. And a pair of socks I started before New Year’s. So, I’m knitting! It just doesn’t count to my goal.

Stop drinking soda – I think I’m doing well here. I’ve had one Coke Classic, which was shared at the movie theater. Other than that, none!

Wake up with alarm – all except for one particularly bad morning, I have gotten up after the second or third iteration. However, I have been loitering in bed longer than I should, and am trying to actually GET UP after shutting off the alarm, rather than laying there for another 5 minutes (or 10).

Walk the dog for an hourI am happy to say that this is also going well, at least on weekdays. It is harder on weekends, but Rock is usually getting at least one walk Saturday and Sunday, too. Just not in the morning.

I am currently also applying the the Master of Organizational Leadership program at the university I work at. And working on keeping up on issues in the library world. And the education world. Honestly, I wonder how everyone else does this!

About Courtney Walters

Mama. Information librarian. Food lover. Knitter. Gardener (ish).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I have fallen behind

  1. Pingback: Witty titles escape me tonight | Stray Threads

Leave a Reply

