Witty titles escape me tonight

So, contrary to my post last month, I’ve decided not to apply for the MOL program yet. Upon pondering the time commitment, it occurred to me that I just may die if I add one more thing for myself to do this spring and summer. I’m still contemplating it for fall though.

In retrospect, I am surprised that I haven’t yet mentioned that I’m learning American Sign Language. I know I’ve mentioned it on Twitter and Facebook, but apparently I haven’t here. My friend Bambi is teaching me and a couple other people. She’s a really great teacher, and I have gone to the local Deaf coffee chat for three weeks now, and can hold my own in conversation. Just FYI, learning ASL has been a lifelong dream of mine (and here I am definitely not exaggerating). I am so stoked that I am finally doing it. Some of you may have heard this before, but when I made the decision to go to grad school, I was also seriously considering becoming an interpreter.

So besides learning a new language, I haven’t been doing too much lately. Chuck is finishing up on the living room (pictures soon!), and we are contemplating what projects we want to sink our money into this summer. Next week I’ll be going to a class on vegetable gardening with my mom, so I can start planning my garden.

Here’s an update on my challenges:

1) Blog

Obviously, I’m not doing so hot here. I’d say my posts are coming more  like once every three weeks, but I partially blame that on not having the internet at home. However, I am proud that I am still posting at all.

2) Drink less soda

So far, so good. One more soda drunk, for a total of 2 since January 1!

3) Get up with the alarm

Ugh. I am managing to get up and out the door in time for a good long dog walk, but I think I am actually getting worse rather than better. Any ideas on how to wake up easier would be appreciated. Just FYI, I currently only have my phone for an alarm. I’m contemplating getting a clock, but am leery as to whether this would help or not. When I was in college, I used both an alarm set across the room from my bed and my phone. I still would manage to turn both off and oversleep.

4) Walk the dog

I am kicking butt here! Rocky gets his walk every week day. On weekends, it’s a little spottier, but he usually gets one on Sunday, and maybe every other Saturday. I’d like to tell you that his behavior is better for it. I suppose he listens a bit better, but he still FREAKS OUT when we see other dogs. This is one reason that I’m happy we walk so early in the morning — there is usually no one else out. Unless you count that guy who has two collies, and doesn’t ever have either on a leash, or that dog yesterday that was wandering around by itself and freaked me out. Yeah, other than that, we’re good as gold.

5) Knit a gift a month

I need to get a move on for March! I finished a baby blanket that I gave as a gift last Saturday, and am currently knitting a pair of fingerless mitts for a friend to give as a gift, as well as a vest for myself, but have no Christmas gifts to show for the month yet. I’m thinking another pair of those mitts would knit up fast and be a nice, quick project…

6) Cook more meals

I’ll try to do more of this later. For now, meh.

7) Read 150 books

Yet more butt kicking. Here’s what I’ve read in the past couple weeks:

Finished In the Belly of the Bloodhound, by L.A. Meyer
Mississippi Jack, by L.A. Meyer
My Bonny Light Horseman, by L.A. Meyer (do you think I like this series?)
The Curious Case of Benjamin Button and Other Stories, by F. Scott Fitzgerald
You, by Charles Benoit
A Tale Dark and Grimm, by Adam Gidwitz
Soulless, by Gail Carriger
Ninth Ward, by Jewel Parker Rhodes
Nightlight, A Parody, by Harvard Lampoon
Push, by Sapphire
You be Me, I’ll be You, by Pili Mandelbaum
Dougal, the Garbage Dump Bear, by Matt Dray
Guji Guji, by Chih-Yuan Chen
Waiting for Winter, by Sebastian Meschenmoser

These last four are new books I ordered for my library. You be Me, I’ll be You is a real disappointment — I had seen that it was an award winner, and read a good review, and it sounded promising. Not so much. It will foster some good conversations in classes, though.

I am currently reading:

Academically Adrift, by Richard Arum, et. al. (yes, still)
Salt: A World History, by Mark Kurlansky
Blindsided, by Priscilla Cummings
The Master Switch: The Rise and Fall of Information Empires, by Tim Wu

I also need to finally finish Little Women and Anna Karenina. Someday.

For those of you who are counting, that is 38 books so far this year, and another four partially done, with two in a perpetual holding pattern. Not too shabby!

About Courtney Walters

Mama. Information librarian. Food lover. Knitter. Gardener (ish).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Witty titles escape me tonight

  1. Just randomly ended up here from Facebook. I found it helpful to have my husband open the curtains before he leaves for work (he has to be to work way earlier than me). I am not sure if this is helpful or doable, but the curtains being opened helps me get up naturally. Just a suggestion! Great goals! Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

