…So what DO you eat?

I’ve had some people ask what I ate during my Whole30. I understand this question, since I  also had trouble imagining what my daily eats would look like. Luckily, reading It Starts With Food and The Whole30 helped me picture it, and fantastic blogs-cum-cookbooks like Nom Nom Paleo and Well Fed gave me the variety I needed.

So, to answer the question precisely, here’s what my daily meals looked like:

Breakfast would be one of the following

Lunch would be leftovers, or some form of hot plate (my favorite was ground beef with onion, garlic, red cabbage and spaghetti squash seasoned with Well Fed’s Sunshine spice blend), or perhaps chicken, tuna or egg salad made with homemade mayo, with a side of veggies and fruit.

After workout snack was usually a hard boiled egg, small tuna salad, sardines (um, still not a favorite but I bought them so I’ll eat them), or some leftover protein.

Dinner was a lot more fun. Here are the favorites from the month:

  • Shepherd’s pie, from The Whole30
  • Roasted whole chicken from The Whole30, with a side of roasted vegetables and acorn squash
  • Pumpkin soup made with Whole30 compliant apple-chicken sausage
  • Ginger beef and broccoli hot plate from It Starts With Food
  • Chipotle (yes – you can get a bowl with the carnitas, lettuce, green and red salsas, and all the guac you can handle)
  • Mulligatawny stew from Well Fed 2 (I actually made this twice, and once again as a vegetarian dish for friends and they loved it, too)
  • Various types of fish with cauliflower rice pilaf from Well Fed (I made this a lot!)
  • Chocolate chili from Well Fed (I added sweet potatoes once, and butternut squash a second time)
  • West African chicken stew from Well Fed, served with the above mentioned cauliflower rice pilaf

Evening snacks are not encouraged, but since I am still nursing, I often needed something between our early dinners and late bedtimes. My favorite snack was an apple cut into thick slices, then slathered with almond butter and topped with raisins and coconut flakes. Yum!

As you can see, there was a lot of variety. It’s not just steamed fish and broccoli. And I really enjoyed being required to eat a substantial amount of fat at each and every meal. It really makes things taste better.

Even if you’re not planning on doing a Whole30, or have any interest in “clean” eating or “paleo” what-nots, I very much encourage you to check out Well Fed, and Melissa Joulwan’s subsequent cookbooks; out of everything I tried from them and her blog, not a single recipe was a dud. They were all absolutely delicious, easy to prepare, and with clear directions. I got my copies from the library, but I’ll be getting copies for my own collection soon.

About Courtney Walters

Mama. Information librarian. Food lover. Knitter. Gardener (ish).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

